SAMOKOV, Bulgaria (June 15) --- The Russian Federation’s freestyle squad medaled in four of five weights and lead Armenia (70 points) by 23 points heading into Wednesday’s final day of freestyle action.

The four Russian medalists from Tuesday were Amal DZHANDUBAEV (48kg), Anzor MAZHIDOV (55kg), Marat FADZAEV (65kg) and Ilia ZHIBALOV (110kg). Dzhandubaev and Fadzaev claimed golds, while Zhibalov and Mazhidov finished in second and third, respectively.

Armenia sits in second place in the team race after the second day of wrestling in Bulgaria. Andranik AVETISYAN (ARM) scored four wins – including three technical superiority victories – en route to the 55kg gold medal. They also picked up bronze medals from Sargis BEGOYAN (48kg), Anushavan BARSEGHYAN (65kg) and Narek GRIGORYAN (80kg).

Outside of Russia (2) and Armenia (1), Ukraine and France also crowned a Cadet European champion today.

Oleksandr MAMROSH (UKR) stuck Tornike SAMKHARADZE (GEO) in the 80kg and won his second continental title. He also won continental gold at the ’19 U15 European Championships.

Levan LAGVILAVA (FRA) was the fifth and final wrestler to have his hand raised on Tuesday night. The French wrestler tallied an 11-1 Ilia ZHIBALOV (RUS) in the 110kg finals and improved on his bronze-medal finish from the ’19 U15 European C’ships.

Heading into Day Three, Georgia (63 points), Azerbaijan (52 points) and Ukraine (48 points) round of the top five in the team race.

Wrestling resumes tomorrow at 11:30 (local time) on


Sargis BEGOYAN (ARM) df. Serdzhan Ashkanov YUSEINOV (BUL), 16 – 5
Vitalii HONCHAR (UKR) df. Victor ANDRIAN (MDA), 10-0

Andranik AVETISYAN (ARM) df. Tamazi SULAMANIDZE (GEO), 11-0 
Abdullah TOPRAK (TUR) df. Herbert AKAPIAN (BLR), 8 - 2
Anzor MAZHIDOV (RUS) df. Subhan SAFARLI (AZE), 9-3

Marat FADZAEV (RUS) df. Ion Laurentiu MARCU (MDA), 8-6
Giorgi GOGRITCHIANI (GEO) df. Dyanko Petrov DYANKOV (BUL), 4 - 1
Anushavan BARSEGHYAN (ARM) df. Marcell NAGY (HUN), 8-6

Oleksandr MAMROSH (UKR) df. Tornike SAMKHARADZE (GEO), via fall
Narek GRIGORYAN (ARM) df. Sattarkhan ALLAHVERDILI (AZE), 4 - 1
Daniel FISCHER (GER) df. Gabriele NICCOLINI (ITA), 9-6

Levan LAGVILAVA (FRA) df. Ilia ZHIBALOV (RUS), 11-1
Hakan BUYUKCINGIL (TUR) df. Azay ISMAYILOV (AZE), via fall
Milan GELLEN (HUN) df. Ksawery Kacper KAMINSKI (POL), 4-0