Iran, USA Advance to Freestyle World Cup Final

By Ali Feizasa

Winning 23 of 24 bouts in three matches, Iran stormed to the final of the 2017 Freestyle World Cup in Kermanshah on Friday.

USA defeated Azerbaijan in a close match to meet the host country in the final. Azerbaijan competes against Turkey in the third-place match.

Iran met Mongolia in the third round of Group B and bested the rival 7-1. The opening matches were for the host team as 2014 world champion and Olympic bronze medalist Hassan Rahimi defeated Zanabazar ZANDANBUD (MGL), 7-6, in a come from behind match at 57kg and Masoud ESMAEILPOUR beat Tulga TUMUR-OCHIR (MGL), 4-0, at 61kg. 

Iranian’s only loss during the last three rounds came at 65kg as Batmagnai BATCHULUUN (MGL) powered past Mohammademehdi YEGANEHJAFARI, 4-3.

The Kermanshahi wrestler Hamed RASHIDI (IRI) defeated Mandakhnaran GANZORIG (MGL) by technical fall, 10-0, earning 8 points using a cradle.

Then Peyman YARAHMADI added another win for Iran, defeating Ankhbayar BATCHULUUN (MGL) by technical fall, 10-0.

2016 Olympic champion Hassan YAZDANI added another technical fall win to his career performance in 86kg as he defeated Unurbat PUREVJAV (MGL), 13-2.

Amir MOHAMMADI won the bout against Batzul ULZIISAIKHAN (MGL) by technical fall at 97kg.

Another Kermanshahi wrestler Yadollah MOHEBI (IRI) beat Zolboo NATSAGSUREN (MGL), 5-0. 

In the other match of the group, Turkey beat India 7-1, advancing to the third-place match against Azerbaijan. 

In Group A, USA defeated Azerbaijan 4-4 to advance to the final.

Azerbaijan won the opening match in 57kg as Giorgi EDISHERASHVILI bested Anthony RAMOS, 3-2.

The most impressive match of the day took place at 61kg, where 2016 world champion Logan STIEBER downed Ali RAHIMZADE (AZE), 12-11. 

Two-time world champion and Olympic bronze medalist Haji ALIYEV (AZE) defeated Frank MOLINARO (USA), 4-1, to give Azerbaijan a 2-1 lead. 

The battle at 70kg took only 2 minutes and 37 seconds as world bronze medal winner James GREEN (USA) beat David SUYNYUCHKHANOV (AZE) by technical fall, 10-0. 

Two-time world champion and 2012 Olympic gold medal winner Jordan BURROUGHS forced his opponent Murad SULEYMANOV (AZE) to suffer a three-caution disqualification. 

At 86 kg, David TAYLOR (USA) downed 2012 Olympic champion Sharif SHARIFOV by technical fall, 12-2, to give the Americans a 4-2 lead. It was second loss for Sharifov in the 2017 Freestyle World Cup.

At 97kg, 2016 Olympic champion Kyle SNYDER (USA) and Aslanbek ALBOROV wrestled a close, physical match. Alborov earned the 5-4 victory on the strength of a four-point technique in the final 30 seconds. 

The heavyweight match finished as 3-1 victory for Jamaladdin MAGOMEDOV (AZE) against Nicholas GWIAZDOWSKI (USA). The two teams were 4-4 in individual wins, but USA beat Azerbaijan 20-14 in technical points.

In other contest of group A, Russia downed Georgia 5-3 but couldn’t qualify to the final or third-place match after suffering two losses on the first day.

The bronze-medal match is set for 4 p.m. local, with the gold-medal match to follow at roughly 5:15 p.m. local. 

Round 3 results:

Group A

57 kg - Zelimkhan ABAKAROV (RUS) df. Beka BUJIASHVILI (GEO), 10-2
61 kg - Viktor RASSADIN (RUS) df. Shota PHARTENADZE (GEO) by TF, 14-4
65 kg - Chermen VALIEV (RUS) df. Iveriko JULAKIDZE (GEO), 12-7
70 kg - Konstantine KHABALASHVILI (GEO) df. Alibek AKBAEV (RUS), 2-2
74 kg - Jakob MAKARASHVILI (GEO) df. Radik VALIEV (RUS), 4-2
86 kg - Akhmed MAGAMAEV (RUS) df. Davit KHUTSISHVILI (GEO) by TF, 10-0
97 kg - Rasul MAGOMEDOV (RUS) df. Zviad METREVELI (GEO), 4-0
125 kg - Geno PETRIASHVILI (GEO) df. Mukhamagazi MAGOMEDOV (RUS) by TF, 13-2

UNITED STATES (USA) df. AZERBAIJAN (AZE), 4-4 (20-14 in technical points) 
57 kg - Giorgi EDISHERASHVILI (AZE) df. Anthony RAMOS (USA), 3-2
61 kg - Logan STIEBER (USA) df. Ali RAHIMZADE (AZE), 12-11 
65 kg - Haji ALIYEV (AZE) df. Frank MOLINARO (USA), 4-1
70 kg - James Malcolm GREEN (USA) df. David SUYNYUCHKHANOV (AZE) by TF, 10-0
74 kg - Jordan Ernest BURROUGHS (USA) df. Murad SULEYMANOV (AZE) by three cautions disqualification, 4-5. 
86 kg - David TAYLOR III (USA) df. Sharif SHARIFOV (AZE) by TF, 12-2 
97 kg - Aslanbek ALBOROV (AZE) df. Kyle SNYDER (USA), 5-4
125 kg - Jamaladdin MAGOMEDOV (AZE) df. Nicholas Edward GWIAZDOWSKI (USA), 3-1

Group B

57 kg - Hassan Sabzali RAHIMI (IRI) df. Zanabazar ZANDANBUD (MGL), 7-6
61 kg - Masoud Mahmoud ESMAEILPOORJOUYBARI (IRI) df. Tulga TUMUR-OCHIR (MGL), 4-0
65 kg - Batmagnai BATCHULUUN (MGL) df. Mohammademehdi Moslem YEGANEHJAFARI (IRI), 4-3
70 kg - Hamed Houshang RASHIDI (IRI) df. Mandakhnaran GANZORIG (MGL) by TF, 10-0
74 kg - Peyman Morteza YARAHMADI (IRI) df. Ankhbayar BATCHULUUN (MGL) by TF, 10-0
86 kg - Hassan Aliazam YAZDANICHARATI (IRI) df. Unurbat PUREVJAV (MGL) by TF, 11-2
97 kg - Amir Mohsen MOHAMMADI (IRI) df. Batzul ULZIISAIKHAN (MGL) by FALL, 4-1
125 kg - Yadollah Mohammadkazem MOHEBI (IRI) df. Zolboo NATSAGSUREN (MGL), 5-0

57 kg - Sezar AKGUL (TUR) df. Amit KUMAR (IND) by DQ, 0-0
61 kg - Harphool HARPHOOL (IND) df. Cengizhan ERDOGAN (TUR) by forfeit, 0-0
65 kg - Safa AKSOY (TUR) df. Bajrang BAJRANG (IND) by TF, 10-0
70 kg - Yakup GOR (TUR) df. Amit Kumar DHANKHAR (IND) by TF, 10-0
74 kg - Islam KILIC (TUR) df. Jitender JITENDER (IND) by TF, 11-0
86 kg - Selim YASAR (TUR) df. Deepak DEEPAK (IND), 9-2
97 kg - Faruk AKKOYUN (TUR) df. Roublejit Singh RANGI (IND), 11-3
125 kg - Salim ERCAN (TUR) df. Krishan KRISHAN (IND) by forfeit, 0-0