WATCH: 10 women's wrestling finals from World Championships

By Vinay Siwach

BELGRADE, Serbia (September 28) -- The women's competition was dominated by two nations as they competed for the team title. Japan and the USA went toe-to-toe for the title but ultimately it was Japan that claimed the top honors. Japan won five gold medals the USA won three. Moldova and Turkey won one each.

Watch all the 10 gold medals bouts from the World Championships here.

GOLD: 50kg - Otgonjargal DOLGORJAV (MGL) vs. Yui SUSAKI (JPN)


GOLD: 62kg - Nonoka OZAKI (JPN) vs. Kayla MIRACLE (USA)


GOLD: 65kg - Miwa MORIKAWA (JPN) vs. Jia LONG (CHN)


GOLD: 76kg - Yasemin ADAR (TUR) vs. Samar HAMZA (EGY)


Belgrade to host 2023 World Championships

By United World Wrestling Press

CORSIER-SUR-VEVEY (November 14) -- The World Championships will return to Belgrade, Serbia for the second straight year as it was elected as the host for the 2023 edition on Monday.

United World Wrestling Bureau met Monday to pick the host for the World Championships and locked in Belgrade. Azerbaijan and Turkey also expressed their interest in hosting the mega event but fell short. UWW will continue to work with the national federations of these nations for future events.

UWW President Nenad LALOVIC (SRB) and Bureau members Rodica YAKSI (TUR) and Namig ALIYEV (AZE) did not participate in the voting due to a conflict of interest.

Belgrade, which hosted the 2022 World Championships with grand success, will host the tournament at the beginning of September 2023.

The dates for the tournament are subject to change from the original September 16 to 24 as it clashes with the Asian Games which are scheduled to begin on September 23 in Hangzhou, China.

The World Championships were scheduled to be held in Russia but since International Olympic Committee recommended sanctions on the nation, it became ineligible to host.

Wrestlers will get a chance to win 90 quotas for the 2024 Paris Olympics from the Belgrade Worlds. Any nation which participated in the 2023 continental championships will be eligible to participate in the World Championships.